Jump to Content

Black Spot Sites Eligibility

What makes a site eligible for funding?

The Government has broadened the programme's eligibility criteria for 2015-16 and 2016-17 to assist local communities to compete for the additional funding available over those two years.

Under the new criteria, the minimum Benefit Cost Ratio (BCR) for proposals has been reduced from 2:1 to 1:1. In addition, the minimum crash history of sites has been reduced from 3 to 2 casualty crashes over five years or 0.13 casualty crashes per kilometre per year over 5 years.

The criteria has also been amended to allow more funding for the proactive treatment of unsafe roads. Consultative Panels will able to allocate up to 40% of funding to sites on the basis of a road safety audit.

The Government has also guaranteed that at least 50 per cent of funding provided over the next two years will be dedicated to fixing roads in regional Australia.

Sites nominated for Black Spot funding for 2017-18 and 2018-19 based on the crash history of the site will need to meet the usual criteria of 3 casualty crashes over five years or 0.2 casualty crashes per kilometre per year over 5 years and have a BCR of at least 2:1.

Funds cannot be used for the purchase of road-building plant or equipment, or for operational or maintenance costs.

Environmental and Heritage Implications

All approved Black Spot projects with significant environmental or heritage implications will need to comply with the requirements of relevant Australian Government and state/territory legislation.


Last Updated: 3 May, 2016