Jump to Content

Roads to Recovery Programme

The objective of Roads to Recovery is to contribute to the Infrastructure Investment Programme through supporting maintenance of the nation’s local road infrastructure asset, which facilitates greater access for Australians and improved safety, economic and social outcomes. The Roads to Recovery programme does not contain a sunset clause under the new National Land Transport Act 2014 meaning no new legislation will be required for the continuation of the programme.

From 2014-15 to 2018-19 the Government will provide $3.2 billion under the Roads to Recovery programme, to be distributed to Australia's local councils, state and territory Governments responsible for local roads in the unincorporated areas (where there are no councils) and the Indian Ocean Territories.

Roads to Recovery allocations for the councils in each jurisdiction (except the ACT as it is a unitary jurisdiction) have been determined on the basis of the recommendations of the Local Government Grants Commissions in each state and the Northern Territory for the roads component of the Financial Assistance Grants. This is the same methodology as was used for this purpose in previous Roads to Recovery programmes.

As announced on 23 June 2015, Councils across Australia will receive an extra $1.105 billion over the next two years.

Local governments will receive an extra $300 million in 2015-16 under Roads to Recovery, on top of the $700 million they are already receiving–a $1 billion cash injection in local roads over the next 12 months

In 2016-17, local government will receive an extra $805 million in addition to the $350 million they were already scheduled to receive under Roads to Recovery–$1.155 billion next financial year.

List of each council’s share of the additional funding announced on 23 June 2015: [PDFPDF: 754 KB]

Note: Each Council’s Roads to Recovery funding is limited to their Life of Programme amount.  Allocations shown for forward years may change in light of payments made in earlier years of the current programme.


Last Updated: 30 June, 2015